How Sweet the Sound!

As I may have mentioned in my first introduction post, I really enjoy music.

I have close to 10,000 songs on my iPod (Ranging from the Sesame St. theme song to Sean Kingston, Reba and Frank Sinatra). Whether I’m in the shower, the car, or in the kitchen cooking, it’s probably a safe bet that I’m listening to music.

But what usually gets me hooked on a song is something more than a good beat. Of course a great, catchy beat helps, but I feel like too many people crank up the dial to the top songs without listening to what the song is actually saying. Our music industry today is so focused on producing “good sounding” songs that they litter their songs with profanity, sexual references & often jaw-dropping lyrics that you’d never want your Grandma hearing!

I read a great article addressing the popular song “Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke. I’ll admit I caught myself singing along to it at first, then as I usually do, I looked up the lyrics…I was shocked- It’s basically talking about rape! Or as Matt Walsh describes ” it’s an anthem to fornication and objectification…Seriously, only morons listen to garbage like this. Really.”  Matt goes on to write a “letter” to his young son about the importance of having good character and integrity in all aspects of your life, especially in respecting women. (Check out the full article here!) 

The one thing that Matt left out of his article was what I feel is the most important part of choosing our music wisely: God calls us to live for him with holy and pure hearts.

The Bible says:

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. Ephesians 4:29

“Run from anything that stimulates youthful lusts. Instead, pursue righteous living, faithfulness, love, and peace. Enjoy the companionship of those who call on the Lord with pure hearts.” 2 Timothy 2:22

“For this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality; that each one of you know how to control his own body in holiness and honor, not in the passion of lust like those who do not know God” 1 Thessalonians 4:3-5

The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. 1 Timothy 1:5

I think you get the point. 🙂

I want to leave you with another challenge this week, listen to the songs on your iPod. I mean really listen to them. Look up the lyrics even! Are they bringing you closer to the God who loves you, encouraging your walk with him, and brightening your day? Or are they simply catchy tunes with vulgar phrases, profanity or lack-luster messages hidden inside?

So I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs of the summer. If you get the chance, I encourage you to watch it and read the lyrics as it plays.

God bless your week!

Leave a comment